Quotes for Survivors

These quotes are about something I have thinking hard about lately, overcoming.  We all have something we have to persevere through, whether it be health issues, abuse, assault, economic problems – we all struggle.  Hopefully these thoughtful people will inspire you, like they have me, to overcome your obstacles.

You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise.
-Maya Angelou

give me life, give me pain, give me myself again
-Tori Amos

In the midst of winter, I finally learned that there was in me an invincible summer.
-Albert Camus

It is better to suffer wrong than to do it.
-Samuel Johnson

Every time I say something they find hard to hear, they chalk it up to my anger, and never to their own fear.
-Ani DiFranco

When you live in the shadow of insanity, the appearance of another mind that thinks and talks as yours does is something close to a blessed event.
-Robert Pirsig

If you always watch the demons behind you, then you will never see the angels ahead.
-Unknown

We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.
-anais nin

to be nobody-but-myself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make me everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight and never stop fighting
-e.e. cummings

Rape is the only crime in which the victim becomes the accused.
-Freda Adler

It’s about realizing, painfully, you’ve kept that voice inside yourself, locked away from even yourself. And you step back and see that your jailer has changed faces. You realize you’ve become your own jailer.
-Tori Amos

Though I can’t change what happened, I can choose how to react. And I don’t want to spend the rest of my life being bitter and locked up.
-Tori Amos

And my absolute favorite:

If you’re going through hell, keep going.
-Winston Churchill

~ by After Silence on August 31, 2009.

5 Responses to “Quotes for Survivors”

  1. [...] Quotes for Survivors « After Silence myvoiceaftersilence.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/quotes-for-survivors – view page – cached #After Silence RSS Feed After Silence » Quotes for Survivors Comments Feed After Silence Sharing My Story… Pink Covers “Janie’s Got A Gun” — From the page [...]

  2. Wonderful…thank you.
    The last Tori Amos quote was exactly what I needed to hear today. Thank you!!

  3. Thanks, as always, for talking about survival. I love that quote from ee cummings!

  4. thanks you for giving me such insperation quotes at such a sad time in my life

  5. The last Tori Amos quote really made me feel much better, thank you for posting these quotes.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

