My Story… Part Five

Originally posted at Learn.Love.Live.

rape

If you have been keeping count then you will realize I have come to my last assailant.  This may be the incident that happened the longest ago, but it is also the hardest one to write about. I think I am going to take this slow and in pieces.

If you read my husband’s post, then you know that this past Spring I had something happen that triggered me. That thing was having this man contact me through facebook and try to friend me. I blocked him right away, but I couldn’t block the memories that went through my mind. I had blocked those memories for so long, but all of the sudden I found my self unable to control them. I was stuck in my mind reliving the attack.

I swear sometimes I hate Facebook. Don’t get me wrong, I love it too. I love reconnecting with friends and staying in touch with loved ones. But this was one reconnection I did not want.

After that incident, I sat down and really started working on dealing with my rape for the first time in over 20 years. Putting it to the back of my mind did not work anymore. It was time for some real healing.

I started writing and taking pictures. I connected with other survivors. It hasn’t been easy, but it has been rewarding.

Please don’t make the mistake I made all those years. I thought I was alone, but I wasn’t. I had friends and family that loved me.  They are the ones I lean on now. Remember you are not alone!

If you are a victim of sexual assault, please visit RAINN and take advantage of their hotline.

~ by After Silence on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
