Rape Survivor Speaks Out About Phillip Garrido

In 1976 Philip Garrido, the man accused of kidnapping Jaycee Dugard, kidnapped and raped a young woman named Katie.

On “The Early Show” September 2, 2009, Katie Calloway Hall said she was “shocked” when she learned what police say Dugard went through.

“I was stunned,” Hall told co-anchor Maggie Rodriguez. “I started shaking. … I had some sense of relief, because he had finally been caught and he was going to be put away. But at the same time, I had overwhelming feelings of the fact that my fears (that he might strike again) had always been justified.”

As details emerged of Dugard’s ordeal, “I was horrified,” Hall says. “I couldn’t believe he went after a child. I could and I couldn’t, because he went after an easier prey, but I thought it was horrible, absolutely horrible.”

Hall’s ordeal began when she gave Garrido a ride in her car. He overpowered her, took her to a warehouse, and raped her for eight hours before a police officer happened by.

“Survival instincts kicked in,” Hall says. “I just had to be alert every second, every moment, I had to be aware of his frame of mind. I had to just figure out how to stay alive, how to connect with him on some kind of human level and make myself, you know, real to him, and not let him go off into a fantasy world.” Source: www.cbsnews.com

This man is obviously a sick son-of-a-bitch.  It is sickening what he has done.  Let’s hope he gets sent away for the rest of his life. Katie, you a courageous woman. Thank you for speaking out about your experience with this monster.

~ by After Silence on September 3, 2009.

One Response to “Rape Survivor Speaks Out About Phillip Garrido”

  1. […] This post was Twitted by DrKathleenYoung […]

Leave a Reply

 
