Polanski, Whoopi and Rape Apologism

I find the response to Roman Polanski’s arrest flat out shocking.  I can not fathom how anyone could support a man who drugged and anally raped a child, took a plea deal, and then fled the country before he could be sentenced. It blows my mind that so many people think this is a waste of time.

Most disconcerting was hearing Whoopi Goldberg’s pronouncement on The View yesterday:

WTF is rape versus rape-rape?  This is not a “little mistake.” Rape is rape! Do you have any doubts? Read the victim’s testimony from the  grand jury testimony:

A. I was going, “No, I think I better go home,” because I was afraid. So I just went and I sat down on the couch.
Q. What were you afraid of?
A. Him.
. . . .

Q. What happened then?
A. He reached over and he kissed me. And I was telling him, “No,” you know, “keep away.” But I was kind of afraid of him because there was no one else there.
. . . .

Q. What did he do when he placed his mouth on your vagina?
A. He was just like licking and I don’t know. I was ready to cry. I was kind of — I was going, “No. Come on. Stop it.” But I was afraid.
. . . .

Q. What happened after that?
A. He started to have intercourse with me.
Q. What do you mean by intercourse?
A. He placed his penis in my vagina.
Q. What did you say, if anything, before he did that?
A. I was mostly just on and off saying, “No, stop.” But I wasn’t fighting really because I, you know, there was no one else there and I had no place to go.

I’ll leave off there before we get to the part where he rapes her anally and ejaculates in her anus.

How can anyone read that and say she was not raped?

I was raped at thirteen by a man whose child I was babysitting.  Heck, he and his wife used to babysit for me when I was younger.  It reminds me a lot of the way Polanski’s victim described her rape.  No, I was not drugged.  Yes, I did say “No” repeatedly.  I did struggle and try to push him off of me.  I did not scream or kick.  I was scared. I was f-ing terrified!  So Whoopi, was I raped or rape-raped?  I’ll tell you right now, by all definitions of the law, I was RAPED! Rape is rape is rape. There is no gray area. There is no “kind of raped.”

Nic at My Bottle’s Up put it elegantly,

“I find myself ashamed to say that I was once a fan of yours… a fan of your successes… a fan of you as a woman… and now, you disgust me.”

Oh and on the discussion of the judge putting Polanski away for 100 years, here is how Patterico’s Pontifications addresses it:

I have read variants of this claim all over, mostly commonly that the judge was going to give Polanski 50 years. What?? The judge wasn’t even going to give him 50 extra days. He was going to give him 48 extra days. I get this from the motion filed by Polanski’s lawyers.Paragraph 16 of the declaration of Polanski’s lawyer says: “Judge Rittenband announced to counsel that he now intended to send Mr. Polanski to prison for the second time under the following conditions: (1) that he serve 48 additional days in prison . . .” The other conditions were that there would be no further hearing, and that Polanski “deport himself.” Polanski had been sent to prison for a “90-day diagnostic” and had served only 42 days; the 48 days was meant to complete the 90 days.

This allegedly went against a previous in-chambers promise by the judge that the initial 42 days would be all Polanski would serve; however, Polanski did not plead based on the previous promise, which was made after the plea. That previous promise did not induce the plea, and when commentators say the judge “reneged” on a deal they are adopting the language of Polanski’s lawyers, who argue that the judge said he would make his decision after reading the probation department report and listening to the lawyers’ arguments. Instead, Polanski’s lawyers claim, the judge made up his mind before listening to the lawyers. Which, truth be told, judges always do; they just usually put on a better show of listening to us.

So, Polanski claims the judge was biased and justice wasn’t being served. He could have stayed in this country  and fought for his rights and put this behind him years ago. Instead, he fled and lived the good life.

Roman Polanski left this country because he’s a guilty, cowardly rapist.  He plead guilty to sex with a minor. He admitted that he drugged her. Those are the facts! What I don’t understand is how all these elite filmmakers could sign a petition asking for Polanski to be released.  Do they support Polanski’s actions?  How do they separate the man from the act?  Is he such a great filmmaker that he deserves to get away with rape?  I just don’t get it!

Woody Allen signing the petition, okay that doesn’t shock me.  But Whoopi’s comments really threw me for a loop.  I always thought of her as a strong woman; one who supports women’s rights and equality.

So what are all the Hollywood types thinking?  Could someone explain it to me?  Come on Martin Scorsese, David Lynch, Jonathan Demme, Mike Nichols, Tilda Swinton, etc. why do you think he should not have to face justice? Can you explain it to me? Can anyone explain it to me?

Oh and if you are curious, click here for a complete list of people who have signed the petition to “Free Polanski.”

Peter Gross has another good point,

“What I find most loathsome is his supporters’ use of the death of his mother in the Warsaw ghetto, and the trauma he received there during the Holocaust, as an excuse for his behavior. The Holocaust was a horrific event. Tens of thousands of children survived and had to live with that searing experience all their lives. Virtually all of them managed to live without committing horrific crimes. To invoke the Holocaust as an excuse is revolting, and a mockery to those Holocaust survivors who have lived with dignity and humanity.”

Just because you have lived through trauma, does not give you an excuse to abuse others. If you commit a crime, you commit a crime.  I feel bad that he has had to deal with so much trauma in his life. Yes it is horrible what happened in the Holocaust.  It is awful that he lost his wife and son to the Manson murders. But being a victim of trauma does not make it okay to cause trauma to someone else! What is worse, he admits it. He admits he drugged a child and f-ed her. But for some reason he doesn’t think he should face justice for his crime.

Scrutinizing his behavior, can we really consider him as having admitted to his crime? It seems  more like BRAGGING about it to me.

~ by After Silence on September 30, 2009.

12 Responses to “Polanski, Whoopi and Rape Apologism”

  1. well done my friend.

  2. Well written. And it takes a lot of courage to come forward with your own story. A 45 year-old having sex with a 13 year-old is rape no matter what the circumstances. When being drugged and SAYING NO enters the equation – there is NO room for “grey”. How can anyone be arguing any differently?! Baffles me.

  3. […] urge you all to click here and read my friend’s take and support her as a survivor in the way you have all embraced and […]

  4. I just don’t have words for the reaction in favour of Polanski. How can anyone defend this sickening act? Hoe dare Whoopi Goldberg make some sort of distinction between rapes?! Clearly she has never even come close to experiencing something like this.

    Those arguing that the case is no longer “in the public interest” are profoundly mistaken; this is perfectly in the public interest, as (sadly) rape isn’t going to just stop. People that have actually been convicted of such crimes need to be prosecuted, and that needs to be obvious to future perpetrators. Of course it’s in the public interest!

    Honestly, it is truly beyond description that people can defend the man’s actions. Words fail me.

  5. Even IF she wasn’t drugged and even if she didn’t say no, rape is rape, and to say otherwise is simply unacceptable. There ARE no grey areas in regards to rape. There is no such thing as “slightly raped” or “a little bit raped;” rape is rape, period. This has my blood boiling, and I SO appreciate you posting so eloquently about it.

  6. Never in my life have I been this angry. Reading your words made me feel so much better, knowing and understanding that we as survivors can take a stand against sick, twisted people like this. Thank you so much.

  7. I agree wholeheartedly with you. It is so sad how vulnerable young girls are.

    I remember being 15 years old and getting a call from my best friend that the father of a child she was babysitting had walked out of his room naked and started coming onto her. She didn’t know what to do so she called me and whispered into the phone to come get her. She didn’t say anything to him, she just say there afraid. When I walked in (without knocking or anything) he was trying to coerce her into sex. We never said anything to anyone, she just refused to ever baby sit again.

    I know this whole Polanski thing opens old wounds – it does for me as well. I hope we see some type of justice served.

  8. Thank you so much for writing about this in your eloquent, powerful way. I am outraged at this situation and sickened at the same time. Rape is rape – no matter who is the perpetrator or the victim. There can be no qualifier.

  9. I still can’t quite put into words how sick to my stomach, disgusted, horrified, terrified, hurt, and angry this makes me feel. Whoopi should be ashamed of herself, and that is putting it MILDLY.

  10. Only in a liberal’s twisted, sick mind could the drugging, rape and sodomizing of a 13 year-old girl not really be “rape-rape.” Would Whoopi’s definition of rape be different if this had happened to one of Obama’s daughters? Read more at: http://conservativetm.blogspot.com/2009/09/31-depraved.html

  11. ConservativeTM – I don’t see this as a liberal vs conservative conversation. I am proud to say that I am a die hard Democrat. My rapist is a die hard conservative. This is a moral issue and in my opinion that has NOTHING to do with your political views. Trust me there are plenty of twisted minds out there that condone rape, liberal and conservative.

  12. There is never any excuse for the horrific crime of rape. These Hollywood people make me sick…defending a grown man that drugged and raped a child. This was very well written. I applaud you for this.

Leave a Reply

 
