The Problem with Twilight….

I came across a very impressive post from a teenager, Kate, writing about her views of  the Twilight series. Finally a teenage girl who has enough of a head on her shoulders to realize that all Meyers does in her books is promote dysfunctional relationships as the ideal.

I have to say I agree whole heartedly with Kate’s take on the Twilight Saga. As I told my friend just the other day, while the series was a fun read it in no way represents a healthy romance. I don’t get what Bella sees in Edward. He is controlling and cold. Hell, he even watches her while she sleeps – you know like a STALKER! Jacob may be a bit more to my liking, but he has issues as well. Like forcing Bella to kiss him against her will. At least Bella punched him in the face for it, even if she broke her hand.

I worry about the kind of unrealistic precedent these books set for teenage girls, and middle aged women for that matter. I have heard way too many girls at my son’s school wax poetic about how they wish they had an Edward all their own. For their sake I hope the Edwards and Jacobs stay away from them.

Most of you have probably guessed by now that I’m, um, not the biggest fan of the Twilight saga.  And no, it’s not just because Robert Pattinson’s eyebrows look like caterpillars that are apt to crawl off his face mid-interview.  Nor is it that when it comes to pretty vampires, I’d take Thomas Raith over a Cullen any day.  My problem is, thankfully, a little less superficial than that. If you’ve ever met a “Twihard”, ever set foot into Hot Topic, … Read More

via TEENAGE SOAPBOX

~ by After Silence on July 8, 2010.

One Response to “The Problem with Twilight….”

  1. Amen. I remember stating similar points when we read Twilight for book club. As the mother of teenage daughters, the book and the power it seemed to have over so many women and girls frightened me. How can people not see all the red flags? Climbing in her window at night. Staying with him even though her life is in danger. Lying to her parents about where she’ll be and what she’ll be doing. And so many more.

    About as bad an example as I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

 
